Dynamic vs. Condenser Microphone

WT4DX

Dynamic vs. Condenser Microphone

Postby WT4DX » Wed Jun 07, 2023 3:14 pm

I’m new to the ANAN platform, as I await the arrival of the G2.

I’m currently running an RE27N/D, and I’m considering stretching out and possibly trying a condenser microphone.

However, I do have concerns running a condenser mic with the background noise and the room effects found in a ham radio station.

Ultimately the dynamic microphone may be the better choice, and depending on the processing capabilities in Thetis, it may not matter whether the mic is a dynamic or a condenser? I don’t have experience in this arena.

For those running condenser microphones, how well does the noise gate/ downward expander in Thetis work in metering and dampening background noise?

At the end of the day this may be a case of “if it’s not broke don’t fix it”, and I’ll just keep running the RE27N/D.

Tem
WT4DX
W1AEX

Re: Dynamic vs. Condenser Microphone

Postby W1AEX » Thu Jun 08, 2023 12:32 am

Hi Tem,

I have always used a Marshall MXL-770 studio condenser mic with my ANAN and have had very good results. The downside with that mic is exactly what you mentioned, all the background noise that it picks up. The downward expander in Thetis can certainly restrain the influence of background noise but I try to avoid situations where I have to invoke that.

Recently, I picked up a Marshall MXL-BCD1 studio dynamic mic and I love it. It's certainly not in the same class as your RE27 but it sounds very clean and people I chat with on the air like it. The BCD-1 picks up far less background noise than the condenser and handles the usual close-talk proximity effects that dynamics exhibit adequately. After fussing around with my TX profiles I am leaning towards running with the dynamic at this point.

I bet if you buy a condenser mic that you will enjoy playing with it but I bet you'll go back to the dynamic!

73, Rob W1AEX