Connections with Alpha 9500

JJ4SDR
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2021 10:09 pm
Location: TEXAS, USA

Connections with Alpha 9500

Postby JJ4SDR » Sun Jan 01, 2023 2:18 am

Hi,

I am the second owner of an Alpha 9500 (model year circa 2010, from I understand) and I will operate it from my PC. This would be really an attractive feature as I am operating another amp from my PC right now and I like it a lot.

I just need to locate a web page from which I can download the "Alpha Remote (AR) AR9500 PC application software as the amp didn't come with a CD. If I understand correctly the original owner didn't operate the amp from a PC.

I assume that the 9 pin DB connector ("OC OUTPUTS") on my ANAN 7000 DLE MKII would be the RS-232C connection needed for the exciter and the amp to talk to each other. Will the amp be able to detect the frequency the exciter is on without RF sensing? I have posted this question on qrz.com as well. Any recommendations for a high quality straight-through cable?

Happy New Year!
Juha
NI2M
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 4584
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Connections with Alpha 9500

Postby w-u-2-o » Sun Jan 01, 2023 3:30 am

JJ4SDR wrote:I just need to locate a web page from which I can download the "Alpha Remote (AR) AR9500 PC application software as the amp didn't come with a CD. If I understand correctly the original owner didn't operate the amp from a PC.

Your Google-Fu must really be failing you. Googling "alpha 9500" returns the following link as the very first result: https://www.alpharfsystems.com/?p=1480 Everything you need is there.

I assume that the 9 pin DB connector ("OC OUTPUTS") on my ANAN 7000 DLE MKII would be the RS-232C connection needed for the exciter and the amp to talk to each other.

NEGATIVE. How is an OC output connector in any way an RS232 port??? Other than Apache decided to use a DE9 connector for this so that it looks like a serial port, something that can obviously be confusing.

You will need to attach to an RS232 COM port on your PC and provision that in Thetis CAT setup. The Alpha would be set up to use Kenwood protocol.

Will the amp be able to detect the frequency the exciter is on without RF sensing?
I haven't read the amp manual, but it it can poll for Kenwood CAT responses then the answer is yes.
JJ4SDR
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2021 10:09 pm
Location: TEXAS, USA

Re: Connections with Alpha 9500

Postby JJ4SDR » Sun Jan 01, 2023 11:27 pm

Scott,

Yes on google :lol:

I keep forgetting that the radio resides on the PC :roll:

Best!
Juha

Return to “Amplifiers & Tuners”