Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

EI2HH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 11:25 am

Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby EI2HH » Tue Feb 22, 2022 12:49 pm

Is there a step-by-step guide to interfacing to N1MM please?

It would be nice if they'd talk by TCP too.

thanks

Andy
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 4279
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Feb 22, 2022 1:31 pm

I'm not aware of a step-by-step guide that is Thetis specific.

For plain old logging and rig control IP interfacing is now available and easy. For IP you need 21K9 version of Thetis and the latest N1MM. N1MM just added TCP/IP support literally today, 22 Feb!

Assuming both Thetis and N1MM are running on the same PC, you are going to use the "localhost" IP address, which is 127.0.0.1.

1. In Thetis go to Setup > Serial/Network/Midi CAT > Network, set the TCP/IP CAT Server to 127.0.0.1 (and a custom port if you wish, I changed it but you can use the default), and enable the "Server Running" checkbox.

2. In N1MM, go to Config > Configure ports... and choose port type TCP, Flex5000 RX2, and put in the IP and port that is assigned in Thetis. Click the "Set" button to adjust your PTT preferences as desired (the serial port parameters shouldn't matter).

That's it, it should just work.

Now if you want CW keying, spectrum display, and voice keying, that's all quite a bit more work, but still easily doable.

Capture3.JPG
Capture3.JPG (118.11 KiB) Viewed 4 times


Capture2.JPG
Capture2.JPG (98.12 KiB) Viewed 1795 times


Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (49.32 KiB) Viewed 1774 times
EI2HH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 11:25 am

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby EI2HH » Tue Feb 22, 2022 1:45 pm

Thanks - just what I wanted. But I'm unclear on the version of Thetis, my ver is 2.8.11 - are you saying I need an earlier version?

Mine doesn't have the IP settings on the CAT+ tab.

thanks

A
User avatar
pa1hr
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:09 pm
Location: Milsbeek, Limburg, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby pa1hr » Tue Feb 22, 2022 2:51 pm

Interesting!

Question: What is the advantage of connecting N1MM with Thetis through TCP/IP CAT server, instead of through CAT+ and virtual COM-ports?

TNX and 73, Hans PA0Q.
--

73,
Hans Remeeus (PA0Q/OE3JRC)
https://pa0q.nl
"Communication is about people, the rest is technology"
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 4279
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Feb 22, 2022 2:54 pm

Note: I updated my first post above with new information.

You have the latest released version. That's good, because you need it installed to move up to the latest alpha version.

To learn how to do that, read carefully the first post in this topic:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3817

That's the beta. Then you have to go find the alpha, which you can find posted at the bottom of Page 42 of that topic. It is 21K9rc1.

Or you can wait a couple of weeks and it should be out as a beta, or possibly even released into Github as the new version.

Or do it the old-fashioned way with virtual serial ports, which honestly isn't that hard.
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 4279
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Feb 22, 2022 3:00 pm

pa1hr wrote:Interesting!

Question: What is the advantage of connecting N1MM with Thetis through TCP/IP CAT server, instead of through CAT+ and virtual COM-ports?

TNX and 73, Hans PA0Q.

The advantage is that you don't need to install, configure, debug or use virtual COM ports. For crusty old Elmers this doesn't seem like such a big deal, but for newbies it makes things so much easier. I'd be very happy to be rid of the extra complexity even though I've got a mature and stable virtual serial port environment.

Of course this is all a bit of a work in progress. Until such time as all relevant ham radio software uses TCP/IP instead of serial communications it kind of forces one to have virtual serial ports installed anyway. But it's coming fast. The first changes to N1MM were literally just released today. I would expect to see more support for TCP in DXLabs soon. And if the hamlib team decides to support it that'll bring the capability to future versions of Fldigi and other software that uses hamlib.
User avatar
pa1hr
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:09 pm
Location: Milsbeek, Limburg, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby pa1hr » Tue Feb 22, 2022 3:08 pm

Thanks Scott, I fully agree with you!

This is much easier and faster to configure than with virtual COM-ports.

73, Hans PA0Q.
--

73,
Hans Remeeus (PA0Q/OE3JRC)
https://pa0q.nl
"Communication is about people, the rest is technology"
EI2HH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 11:25 am

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby EI2HH » Wed Feb 23, 2022 10:52 am

@ w-u-2-o thanks, will do!
EI2HH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 11:25 am

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby EI2HH » Tue Aug 30, 2022 4:27 pm

Still no joy with this. Here are the relevant screens:
Screenshot 2022-08-30 182539.png
Screenshot 2022-08-30 182539.png (25.15 KiB) Viewed 774 times


I don't know what that error popup is referring to.

Any help please?

Thanks

Andy EI5JGN
Attachments
Screenshot 2022-08-30 182411.png
Screenshot 2022-08-30 182411.png (35.65 KiB) Viewed 774 times
w9mdb
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby w9mdb » Tue Aug 30, 2022 4:39 pm

You have port 13031 instead of 13013 . Radio selection should be TS-2000.
EI2HH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 11:25 am

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby EI2HH » Tue Aug 30, 2022 4:55 pm

Ah thanks didn’t notice the port.

The screenshots someone posted above say to use Flex…

Also, how can I enable a 2nd radio in N1MM.

Thanks

EA5JGN.
w9mdb
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:53 pm

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby w9mdb » Tue Aug 30, 2022 5:12 pm

Select SO2R and set up a 2nd radio with Radio Nr 2
EI2HH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 11:25 am

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby EI2HH » Wed Aug 31, 2022 9:47 am

Got it thanks!

No doubt I'll be back...
JJ4SDR
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2021 10:09 pm
Location: TEXAS, USA

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby JJ4SDR » Thu Sep 29, 2022 7:14 pm

Want to set up my N1MM+ logger to work with Thetis. I see a CAT+ tab on the forms from screen-shots. I don't see such tab, but do see some settings like IP binding on the "Serial/Network/Midi CAT" tab so I suppose that will work.

Juha
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 4279
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Sep 30, 2022 12:28 am

You got it!

This post is old and predates that change to the UI design. I'll update it tomorrow.
JJ4SDR
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2021 10:09 pm
Location: TEXAS, USA

Re: Interfacing Thetis to N1MM?

Postby JJ4SDR » Fri Sep 30, 2022 1:13 am

:)

Return to “Digital Mode, Rig Control & Logging Software”