Random Wide TX on a 10E and Thetis

WA3O
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 11:29 am

Random Wide TX on a 10E and Thetis

Postby WA3O » Tue Nov 08, 2022 9:14 am

Hello Group,

I have a random problem with My 10E and the latest Thetis 2.9.0 and a wide transmit that has something to do with pure signal. If I notice it ( I can see it on the TX spectrum) all that is needed to stop it is to unkey and key back up. When people hear it on the receiving end it's very wide, jittery and echoes.

I know it has something to do with pure signal because, I was transmitting one time when it happened I stayed keyed up and turned off the pure signal and it went away.

I have also seen and heard this problem on a Hermese lite using Thetis and have worked a few guys with 10e's that have commented about this trouble.

I have used PowerSDR MRX with pure signal and there seems to be no problem with it.

I have a 7000 and use the same exact Thetis 2.9.0 ( changing the settings for the radio) and it works 100%.

Anyone with a 10E or a Hermese have this trouble? Any thoughts or fixes?

Sorry if I posted this in the wrong topic as it transcends 10E, Thetis and pure signal. please move it if you feel there is a better location.

Forgot to mention the 10E is on protocol 1 and so is the 7000DLEMKII.

Thank you.

73's

Mike WA3O
I4LEC
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Random Wide TX on a 10E and Thetis

Postby I4LEC » Wed Nov 09, 2022 3:05 pm

Mike,
I am experiencing the same thing since the early days of Thetis, up to the point that once I thought to came back to Power SDR MRX PS, but given today's Thetis features, it is hard to make such a step back.
I do confirm taking place only when PS is engaged, it randomly happens after several PTT ON (8/10)

Mine is an ANAN10 16bits (Hermes board) still on protocol 1

73, Clay I4LEC
ON8EI
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2021 4:10 pm

Re: Random Wide TX on a 10E and Thetis

Postby ON8EI » Wed Nov 23, 2022 10:38 am

Hello Mike, it's always great to talk to you on the radio and drop in anytime you hear us on this side of the pond.

As you know I have the latest version Hermes Lite 2 and when pure signal was on I had that problem.

I followed you suggestion and switched it off, since then all good.

I appreciate your input and I love that homebrew amp on your QRZ page.

Wishing you well. de ON8EI John. 73's

Return to “PureSignal Operations (PowerSDR & Thetis)”