Error starting SDR hardware.

Can't talk to your radio? This is the place to ask!
Torrey

Error starting SDR hardware.

Postby Torrey » Wed Mar 01, 2023 5:21 am

I received my new 7000DLE MKIII today. Serial number DX8300595A.
Attached antenna, power supply (13.9v, 30A). Speakers. Ethernet via network switch. Thetis 2.9.0.6.
Ran the receiver all afternoon. Worked well.
I then decided to replace the ethernet cable to the switch for a brand new one. Direct swap.
Shortly after that I pressed the power button on Thetis. I then got the "Error starting SDR hardware" error.
The LAN light to the right of the panel jack blanks only intermittently. The light on the left is steady on. Red lights normal.
Since there is no connection to the receiver, the the power messages at the lower left of Thetis is 0/0.

I am totally new to the ANAN. My uninformed guess is that the IP address changed. If that is the issue, I will need "hand-holding" to proceed.
Please HELP!

73 Torrey N9PY
Tony EI7BMB

Re: Error starting SDR hardware.

Postby Tony EI7BMB » Wed Mar 01, 2023 8:33 am

w-u-2-o

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Mar 01, 2023 2:24 pm

Torrey wrote:...
I then decided to replace the ethernet cable to the switch for a brand new one. Direct swap.
Shortly after that I pressed the power button on Thetis. I then got the "Error starting SDR hardware" error.

Did you try changing back to the old Ethernet cable?
Torrey

Postby Torrey » Wed Mar 01, 2023 4:04 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:
Torrey wrote:...

Did you try changing back to the old Ethernet cable?

Yes I did try the old one, and a few others.
w-u-2-o

Postby w-u-2-o » Wed Mar 01, 2023 4:42 pm

When you own an openHPSDR architecture radio, like your Apache/Thetis combo, it helps if you are already familiar with basic Ethernet networking and basic Windows networking. But it doesn't seem like you've climbed that learning curve yet. So, on to basic troubleshooting...