Thetis connect via VPN ???

User avatar
OZ1CT-Ben
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:38 am
Location: Bornholm Island JO75kb
Contact:

Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby OZ1CT-Ben » Fri Dec 22, 2023 1:27 pm

Hi all

I am running my stations remote via Softethern VPN and it works fine on my Flex , but what about Thetis do it allow to find the radio on a diferent network ??? at home I have 192.168.7.xx and on remote I use 192.168.1.xx

anyone else who runn there radio remote ???

73" OZ1CT Ben
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5488
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Dec 22, 2023 1:49 pm

The short answer is "No, you can't do it like the Flex."

The reasons for this and other ways to solve the problem are well discussed in the Remote Operations sub-forum:

https://community.apache-labs.com/viewforum.php?f=24

Moving this topic to that sub-forum...
ea3aqr
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby ea3aqr » Fri Dec 22, 2023 4:16 pm

I'm using very often my Anan that way (192.168.1.xxx and 192.168.10.xxx)

I use OpenVPN in bridged mode.

You need a high speed low latency link. Mine is fiber to fiber. 1Gb at the radio end and 300Mbps at the remote PC end with about 9-15ms latency.

It works perfect 99% of the time running protocol 2. From time to time I experience packet drops, but only when links are very congested.

Good luck!
Last edited by ea3aqr on Fri Dec 22, 2023 11:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.
New call sign EA3CL
User avatar
OZ1CT-Ben
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:38 am
Location: Bornholm Island JO75kb
Contact:

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby OZ1CT-Ben » Fri Dec 22, 2023 4:23 pm

HI EA3AQR

I Use Softethern so it should be the same ...but what about the network ...home I run 192.168.7.xx and remote I have
192.168.1.xx it cant be the same sub net....

so hopful you are running thetis on your home pc and via VPN to the Anan...and this work ????


73" OZ1CT Ben
ea3aqr
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby ea3aqr » Fri Dec 22, 2023 4:30 pm

It works, 192.168.1.xxx at Anan radio end and 192.168.10.xxx at the remote end.

But as I said in the other post, you must set up your VPN in bridged mode, not routed mode.

I'm using my radio remotely (200km away from my qth) that way very often from my remote at the mountains.
Using a 384000khz of sampling rate, bandwidth usage is about 20Mbps without pure signal and 40Mbps with PS on.

I spent whole pandemics in the remote qth and I was using my radio daily without problems.
Last edited by ea3aqr on Fri Dec 22, 2023 11:20 pm, edited 7 times in total.
New call sign EA3CL
ea3aqr
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby ea3aqr » Fri Dec 22, 2023 5:09 pm

If I remember well I also tried SoftEther as VPN but I was not able to start Thetis succsessfully. Worked well with SDR Console, but not with Thetis.
Thetis needs some kind of a "special broadcast packet" to initialize the radio.

Using OpenVPN there is an issue with latest Windows TAP drivers (client side drivers). I can only use drivers up to "tap-windows-9.23.3-I601-Win10". Newer dirivers have the same problem as SoftEther had starting the radio connection.
New call sign EA3CL
User avatar
OZ1CT-Ben
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:38 am
Location: Bornholm Island JO75kb
Contact:

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby OZ1CT-Ben » Fri Dec 22, 2023 5:32 pm

for PTT i use a Arduino-uno (at home) there send a command via MQTT in node-red to my Flex-6600 to key/ptt it

how do you cure this problem whit remote PTT ???

Ben
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5488
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby w-u-2-o » Fri Dec 22, 2023 7:29 pm

@OZ1CT-Ben

Before you get too excited, the situation that ea3aqr describes is exceedingly rare. That is to say, his ability to move data reliably and with low latency over the internet is most unusual. Very few people enjoy that kind of performance over the internet.

So, BEFORE you go any further, you should validate the speed you can achieve over the link you are going to use, including the overhead of the VPN. To do this use a tool like Tamosoft or iPerf to measure UDP performance over the link and VPN. If you are not getting at least 100Mbit/s, preferably 200 Mbit/s, with very few lost packets then running remotely with Thetis at one end and the ANAN at the other will NOT work.

As for PTT, that's easy. Provision an RS-232 serial port on the Thetis PC (card or USB adapter). Go to Thetis > Setup > Serial/Network/Midi/CAT > Serial and enable the that port as the PTT control port. Select RTS and attach a PTT switch between pins 6 and 7 on the DE9 serial connector.
ea3aqr
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby ea3aqr » Fri Dec 22, 2023 10:52 pm

OZ1CT-Ben wrote:for PTT i use a Arduino-uno (at home) there send a command via MQTT in node-red to my Flex-6600 to key/ptt it

how do you cure this problem whit remote PTT ???

Ben


I'm using my radio like I do locally over my home lan.

I'm just connecting the remote PC to my home lan over the internet using my VPN.

When I'm connected I can see all the machines inside the lan (Anan, amplifier, rotator, OpenVPN server..).
Then I just launch Thetis on the remote PC and can use my radio as I do when I'm in my home QTH.

For PTT I just use the "space bar" in my remote PC's keyboard. Of course I'm always using VAC and my mic is connected to the remote PC internal sound card.

I will be in the remote QTH for my winter holidays from december 29 to january 29, if you like I can record a video for you showing how good it works.
Last edited by ea3aqr on Fri Dec 22, 2023 11:07 pm, edited 4 times in total.
New call sign EA3CL
ea3aqr
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby ea3aqr » Fri Dec 22, 2023 10:57 pm

w-u-2-o wrote:@OZ1CT-Ben

Before you get too excited, the situation that ea3aqr describes is exceedingly rare. That is to say, his ability to move data reliably and with low latency over the internet is most unusual. Very few people enjoy that kind of performance over the internet.

So, BEFORE you go any further, you should validate the speed you can achieve over the link you are going to use, including the overhead of the VPN. To do this use a tool like Tamosoft or iPerf to measure UDP performance over the link and VPN. If you are not getting at least 100Mbit/s, preferably 200 Mbit/s, with very few lost packets then running remotely with Thetis at one end and the ANAN at the other will NOT work.

As for PTT, that's easy. Provision an RS-232 serial port on the Thetis PC (card or USB adapter). Go to Thetis > Setup > Serial/Network/Midi/CAT > Serial and enable the that port as the PTT control port. Select RTS and attach a PTT switch between pins 6 and 7 on the DE9 serial connector.



As per my tests, the real VPN speed between the remote location and my home QTH is about 200Mbps. I can move files between PCs at about 25MB/s.

My latencies right now are quite low 9-15ms, but with my previous internet provider they were from 25 to 30ms and I was also using my radio without any problem.

I adjust PS manually on each band to avoid doubling my bandwidth requirements, but that's all.
New call sign EA3CL
K1LSB
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 5:25 pm

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby K1LSB » Sat Dec 23, 2023 1:13 am

ea3aqr wrote:I adjust PS manually on each band to avoid doubling my bandwidth requirements, but that's all.

How does one adjust PS manually?

TIA,
Mark
ea3aqr
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby ea3aqr » Sat Dec 23, 2023 7:39 am

Go to "linearity" console, press "two tone" and then press "single cal"

Your pure signal will be adjusted for that frequency and power.
Last edited by ea3aqr on Sun Dec 24, 2023 8:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
New call sign EA3CL
User avatar
OZ1CT-Ben
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:38 am
Location: Bornholm Island JO75kb
Contact:

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby OZ1CT-Ben » Sat Dec 23, 2023 8:13 am

I will drive down to the remote with and setup the softethern to bridge mode and turn on the radio.

Then home and see if it works

About the PTT I prefer to have a foot PTT so I will find a way to fix...maybe whit node-red I now use whit my flex.
ea3aqr
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby ea3aqr » Sat Dec 23, 2023 8:50 am

OZ1CT-Ben wrote:I will drive down to the remote with and setup the softethern to bridge mode and turn on the radio.

Then home and see if it works

About the PTT I prefer to have a foot PTT so I will find a way to fix...maybe whit node-red I now use whit my flex.


I really use one (left side one) button in my mouse to PTT...

please take a look at my post:
https://community.apache-labs.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=4200
New call sign EA3CL
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 5488
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Dec 23, 2023 1:35 pm

OZ1CT-Ben wrote:About the PTT I prefer to have a foot PTT so I will find a way to fix...maybe whit node-red I now use whit my flex.
Why go to all that trouble? Why not use the serial port method I posted above? I have a footswitch on mine.

You can run CW remotely with key interfaced to Thetis via a serial port, too.
User avatar
OZ1CT-Ben
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:38 am
Location: Bornholm Island JO75kb
Contact:

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby OZ1CT-Ben » Wed Jan 03, 2024 7:00 pm

Today i got my Anan-7000-clone up and running remote whit OpenVPN and it work ok. at home I have a 300Mb fiber line and on the remote a WIFI 5Ghz whit 60/30Mb

this video is made with my phone...not the best sound quallity .....file is to big to attach here so here is a link for it:


https://photos.app.goo.gl/ZcxezHnvkYUNiuj47


73" OZ1CT Ben
K1LSB
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 5:25 pm

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby K1LSB » Wed Jan 03, 2024 7:33 pm

Ben,

What do you mean by "Anan-7000-clone"?

Thanks,
Mark
User avatar
OZ1CT-Ben
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:38 am
Location: Bornholm Island JO75kb
Contact:

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby OZ1CT-Ben » Wed Jan 03, 2024 8:08 pm

Hi Mark

Here a video of the radio radio...

https://youtu.be/h7eL-OLQPXY?si=BJd14M_PEVhAspoQ
ea3aqr
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm
Location: BCN

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby ea3aqr » Wed Jan 03, 2024 9:51 pm

Ben, I'm so glad it's working for you too.

Enjoy it!
New call sign EA3CL
SM3PZG
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2022 8:36 am

Re: Thetis connect via VPN ???

Postby SM3PZG » Thu Jan 04, 2024 9:47 pm

Hi Mark

Here a video of the radio radio...

https://youtu.be/h7eL-OLQPXY?si=BJd14M_PEVhAspoQ


Ben, were and how did you buy the Anvelina PROII/III?

73/Sam

Return to “Remote Operation Over The Internet”