Satellites - Duplex with 2 different transverters

User avatar
Conrad_PA5Y
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:11 pm

Satellites - Duplex with 2 different transverters

Postby Conrad_PA5Y » Tue Jan 24, 2023 1:21 pm

Hello all I want to use my ANAN-100D on the QO-100 satellite. The ideal situation would be to allow the use of 2 transverters, one on ADC1 which will be used for TX and the other on RX2. I need duplex operation. As I understand it DUPLEX only works on RX1. Is it even possible to listen to RX2 while transmitting? With a little ingenuity I can align everything to 28MHz.

Is anybody else doing anything similar?

Regards

Conrad PA5Y
User avatar
w-u-2-o
Posts: 4584
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Satellites - Duplex with 2 different transverters

Postby w-u-2-o » Tue Jan 24, 2023 3:09 pm

I'm not in front of the radio right now so I can't remember specifics, but if you disable all the ground and mute on RX options for RX2 (second ADC) it does provide full duplex operation. This can be handy for monitoring one's own transmissions using a second antenna.
User avatar
Conrad_PA5Y
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:11 pm

Re: Satellites - Duplex with 2 different transverters

Postby Conrad_PA5Y » Tue Jan 24, 2023 4:17 pm

Thanks Scott I will give that a try this evening. It would be much better to have an independent RX.

Regards

Conrad
N9SSW
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 10:25 am

Re: Satellites - Duplex with 2 different transverters

Postby N9SSW » Wed Jan 25, 2023 8:15 am

I am still trying to figure all this transverter stuff out as well. Trying to figure out if I need a Q5 Multi-band transverter or two individual single band Q5 2 meter and 70cm transverters. I am looking to have the same flexibility only using the 8000DLE. I am not intending to work the birds right away but want to have the option open for the future without needing to replace expensive radios and\or the transverter(s). If I am going to spend 1500 to 2000 on transverter(s) I would like to only have to make this investment one time.

I have seen a video of the flex 6600 operating full duplex on the birds, but looking into how they are doing that it appears the 6600 supports two transverters out of the box as it has Two pairs of transverter ports TXV1\RX1 and TXV2\RX2

Can my 8000DLE pull this off? can I split the transverter TX port sending it to one transverter or the other (or both) and then use ant2 as an RX1 jack for transverter 1 and the RX2 jack for transverter #2 all while keeping my current HF setup outputting on ant1 to my HF amplifier and then my HF antennas?

If I can not split the transverter out port into two transverters, might I be able to use the ant2 jack for common IF for transverter1 and have the software disable the PA when that transverter is selected as the TX band? wouldn't this give me the same 15dBm on ant2 jack as on the XVTR port?

I would also like to be capable of listening to both 2M & 70cm at the same time (one in RX1\VFO A the other in RX2\VFO B display) and TX out of whichever is selected as the TX (VFO A\VFO B

Not sure how I would configure the software as of yet (if possible) ?

Just trying to get some info before I spend a fair bit on one or more transverters...


Nick

Return to “Transverters”