New to Transverters & considering transverter(s) for the 8000DLE

N9SSW

New to Transverters & considering transverter(s) for the 8000DLE

Postby N9SSW » Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:17 am

So I am considering adding 2M & 70CM to the 8000DLE using one or two transverters but I have no experience doing so on the 8000DLE, I have looked through the documentation for the 8000 I have and have not found any transverter hookup\config guides for the 8000 either.

First let me put my goals out here to even see if they can be realized....

1. add 2M and 70CM to the 8000 Software interface seamlessly. I'm using protocol 1 and OpenHPSDR mRX 3.4.9
2. gain some SSB experience on 2M\70CM.
3. be able to access the local 2M\70CM FM repeaters.
4. this might be a taller ask.... be able to RX\TX on either 2M\70CM while still listening to the other band (like a modern dual band mobile radio) 70CM\2M at the same time.

I was considering this dual band 2M\70CM Ukraine high stability transverter https://www.ebay.com/itm/132503036008 and a dual band VHF\UHF linear amplifier until I realized that #4 would be impossible since both the amp and transverter could operate on only one band at a time. I think the single dual band transverter\amp method could accomplish #1-3 of my goals but eliminates #4.