How to build Thetis in Visual Studio?

w-u-2-o

How to build Thetis in Visual Studio?

Postby w-u-2-o » Sat Feb 18, 2023 5:06 pm

Hi all,

I'm no developer, certainly not in high level languages, but I figured I could sort out how to build Thetis from source. I'm close, so close, but I'm missing some tiny little step.

I downloaded and installed Visual Studio Community 2022 17.4.5 in the "Desktop development with C++" configuration.

I also installed the WiX v3 Visual Studio 2022 Extension and WiX Toolset v3 for Visual Studio.

I then opened Visual Studio and immediately selected "Clone a repository" and used the following url: https://github.com/ramdor/Thetis-2.9.0. That was successful. Then I found and opened the .sln from inside VS. So far, so good!

I then told VS to build. It complained about .net not being 4.8 and supplied instructions for downloading and installing the 4.8 developer pack. I did that, and I also installed 4.8.1. This included the recommended reboot.

Attempting to build again VS asked if I wanted to update the target to .net 4.8 and I did. I also set the target to Release and x64. The build succeeded with no errors.

Finally, I used the "Start without debugging" button in VS to start Thetis. The first time Thetis did build the Wisdom file and updated the database normally. However, after that Thetis will start but then every time quit almost immediately after the main console UI appeared.

So now I'm stuck. I'm sure I did something very basic incorrectly. What did I miss/do wrong :?:

Thanks!

Scott
Joe

Re: How to build Thetis in Visual Studio?

Postby Joe » Sat Feb 18, 2023 5:55 pm

Hello Scott,